4:37 (Poem)

Poem originally written by Luka Jijieshvili on October 18, 2017.
Scroll down to see license options.

My eyes are wide open at morning’s 4:37
And I bet somewhere far yours are closed,
Mine are weeping for I’m missing the heaven,
When you and I didn’t greet with stranger’s nod.

And yes, I felt it back there,
That we would soon become Jack and Jill,
We would forever forget all our fears,
And would happily ever run in blossoming fields.

And yes, I knew it right there,
That you and I would never die
and would stay alive all the time.

And yes, I believed it right there,
That the rain and storm and earthquakes
To us in strength would never compare.

But the quake was all too strong,
And our dominoes all fell in swish,
Jack and Jill lived a life too short,
And now they rest in quiet peace.

Beware of peace, and not of war,
Because prior to every war, there was peace.
It is the peace that starts all the wars,
And it is the war that ends all of it.

My eyes are wide open at morning’s 4:37,
And I bet somewhere far yours are closed,
Crying for Jack and Jill Times will take us forever,
And I’m praying to find you in somebody else’s soul.

Luka Jijieshvili
Creative Commons License

Leave a comment